Our Approach

Our Approach
In order to identify program opportunities, Dubai Cares assesses the needs of local communities and designs interventions that produce immediate and long-term impact in the lives of children and their communities. To ensure program sustainability, Dubai Cares channels the capacities of local NGOs, government staff and civil societies.

With learning as a cross-cutting theme across all programs, Dubai Cares commits significant resources towards Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning activities that not only ensure alignment with its vision and values, but also become a source of valuable information for local and international communities.  


School Infrastructure

Access to education in developing countries is often impeded by an extreme shortage or complete lack of schools. Where schools do exist, severely dilapidated buildings, long distances, poor and/or unsafe roads and lack of transportation often make them inaccessible. Limited resources in schools often result in overcrowded classrooms and unsafe buildings.

Children, specifically in rural areas, are less likely to enroll in school and more likely to drop out prior to completing their education due to lack of schools and/or teachers. Conflict-affected countries suffer most, with schools ruined or seriously damaged, roads destroyed, under fire or laden with land mines, basic supplies cut off and people fleeing. Dubai Cares works with its partners to establish child-friendly and accessible primary schools especially in marginalized and rural areas of developing countries.

Creating and improving physical infrastructure provides a protective environment that reduces risks to children, while giving them a permanent place to learn. A safe and conducive learning environment provides the necessary confidence to parents and communities to enroll and retain children in school. By building and renovating schools with gender specific latrines, providing classroom furniture and equipment, Dubai Cares is increasing access for millions of children, thereby helping increase overall enrollment and retention.


Water, Sanitation & Hygiene (WASH) in Schools

The process of collecting water daily and the various illnesses caused by poor sanitation result in children’s increased absenteeism, especially for girls. Potable water, sanitation facilities and hygiene promotion in schools are essential to ensuring a complete and healthy education experience.

Millions of children engage in unhealthy hygiene behavior such as open defecation and the lack of proper hand washing with soap before eating. Such behavior enables the recurrence of water-borne diseases that claim children’s lives in many developing countries. Unable to maintain a continuous classroom attendance, children face difficulties in keeping up with material and eventually give up on their education.

Furthermore, the absence of gender-specific latrines discourages many girls from remaining in school, especially as they progress into the later years of primary education.

Dubai Cares and its partners seek to ensure full integration of WASH (Water, Sanitation & Hygiene) in all its programs, and promote effective hygiene practices in schools and their communities in order reduce the spread of disease, improve enrollment and attendance in primary schools, improve academic achievement and promote gender equality.


School Health & Nutrition

Poor health and nutrition negatively impact children’s school attendance and ability to learn.

According to the World Food Program, 66 million primary school-aged children in developing countries attend school hungry, with 23 million in Africa alone. Appropriately designed school feeding programs have shown to increase access to education and learning, and improve children’s health and nutrition, especially when integrated into comprehensive school health and nutrition programs.

In addition, there are over 400 million school-age children infected with parasitic worms, a chronic condition that harms their health and limits their access to education. Intestinal worms can impede children’s natural growth and make them underweight, leading to impaired mental and physical development. Worms can also cause anemia and malnutrition, making children too sick or too tired to concentrate in school or attend school at all.

Dubai Cares works with its partners to design and implement effective school feeding programs and targeted de-worming interventions that improve basic child health and nutrition that allows children to attend school and more effectively take advantage of those education resources available.

Specifically in impoverished communities, providing nutritious meals to children while in schools can alleviate economic pressures for parents who would be more inclined to enroll and retain their children throughout their primary education.


Quality of Education

School systems in many countries are chronically underfunded and understaffed. According to UNESCO’s 2009 Education for All Global Monitoring Report, in Sub-Saharan Africa alone 3.8 million teachers must be recruited by 2015 in order to achieve universal primary education. Yet the quality of teaching suffers when teachers do not speak the native language of their pupils, cannot read instructional manuals, do not receive training for new curricula, do not know enough content to teach or have little training in current pedagogical methods. Much of the developing world is plagued with high pupil-to-teacher ratios, in some cases, above 60 students to one teacher.

In order to sustain and improve primary education and narrow the gap between standards in the developing and developed nations, Dubai Cares works with local agencies to strengthen teacher performance, train principals, review curricula, replenish school supplies, create community dialogue with schools and create Parent-Teacher Associations to generate a positive and active culture of education.

By ensuring that children receive quality education and are capable of progressing through their primary cycle with limited or no grade repetition, quality enhancement programs enhance the flow of pupils, hence improving enrollment in the early years of the primary education cycle.

منهجنا

منهجنا

من أجل تحديد أهداف البرامج، تُقيّم دبي العطاء احتياجات المجتمعات المحلية، وعليه تقوم بتصميم الإجراءات التدخلية المناسبة بأسلوب يُحدث أثراً فورياً طويل الأجل في حياة الأطفال والمجتمعات. ولضمان استدامة البرامج، تدعم دبي العطاء قدرات المنظمات الغير الحكومية المحلية، والموظفين الحكوميين والمجتمعات المدنية.

تركز جميع برامج ومبادرات دبي العطاء على المساواة بين الجنسين ورصد وتقييم النتائج، وتلتزم دبي العطاء بتخصيص موارد كبيرة للرصد والتقييم والتعلم بما يضمن تحقيق أهداف ورسالة دبي العطاء ويوفر معلومات قيمة للمجتمعات المحلية والعالمية. وفيما يخص المساواة بين الجنسين، يتمحور عمل دبي العطاء حول ضمان حصول البنات والبنين بشكل متساوٍ على بيئة تعليمية آمنة، من خلال توفير مرافق تعليمية متكاملة ومواد تدريسية ملائمة ودعم أكاديمي من مدرسين مؤهلين، ودعم المجتمع المحلي.

البنية التحتية للمدارس

إن النقص الحاد في عدد المدارس داخل البلدان النامية أو عدم وجودها يحول دون حصول الأطفال على التعليم الأساسي السليم. حتى وإن وجدت المدارس، فإن هناك عوامل كثيرة تسهم بدور سلبي في عدم حصول الأطفال على التعليم الذي يحتاجونه مثل المباني الغير الصالحة، والمسافات الطويلة، والطرقات الغير المعبدة أو غير الآمنة وغياب وسائل النقل. وعادة ما تؤدي محدودية الموارد في المدارس إلى ازدحام الصفوف الدراسية، ما يجعل المباني غير آمنة.

وتقل نسبة التحاق الأطفال بالمدارس، وخاصة في المناطق الريفية، وكثيراً ما يتسرب من إلتحق منهم قبل إتمام المرحلة التعليمية نتيجة نقص عدد المدارس و/أو المعلمين. كما تعاني البلدان المتأثره بالصراعات ما هو أسوأ من ذلك، حيث المدارس تكون مهدمة أو متضررة، والطرقات مدمرة أو تقع تحت خط النار، والألغام، وانعدام الإمدادات ونزوح الناس. وتعمل دبي العطاء مع شركائها في إنشاء مدارس للتعليم الأساسي تكون ملائمة للأطفال ويسهل الوصول إليها، خاصة في المناطق الريفية والمهمشة في البلدان النامية.

إن إنشاء وتحسين البنى التحتية يوفران بيئة آمنة تحد من المخاطر التي قد يتعرض إليها الأطفال وتمنحهم مكاناً آمناً للتحصيل العلمي. كما تمنح البيئة التعليمية الآمنة الثقة اللازمة للآباء والمجتمعات المحلية لتسجيل أطفالهم بالمدارس وإبقائهم فيها. ومن خلال عمليات بناء المدارس وتجديدها وإنشاء المراحيض وتوفير الأثاث والتجهيزات اللازمة للصفوف، تسهم دبي العطاء في زيادة فرص حصول ملايين الأطفال على التعليم الأساسي السليم، الأمر الذي يشجعهم على الالتحاق بالمدارس والبقاء فيها.

الصحة المدرسية والتغذية

إن ضعف الحالة الصحية وسوء التغذية يؤثران بصورة سلبية على معدل الحضور المدرسي للأطفال والقدرة على التعلم.

وفقاً لبرنامج الغذاء العالمي، حوالي 66 مليون طفل يذهبون إلى المدارس جائعين، ومنهم 23 مليوناً في أفريقيا وحدها. وقد ثبت أن برامج التغذية المدرسية المُصممة بصورة جيدة تحقق زيادة في نسبة التعلم، وتحسن أيضاً من صحة الأطفال وتغذيتهم، خاصة عندما يتم دمجها مع برامج شاملة للصحة المدرسية والتغذية.

إضافة إلى ذلك، يعاني ما يزيد على 400 مليون طفل ممن هم في سن الالتحاق بالمدارس من الإصابة بالديدان الطفيلية، وهي حالة مزمنة تضر بصحتهم وتحد من إمكانية حصولهم على التعليم. فالديدان المعوية تعيق النمو الطبيعي للأطفال وتجعلهم دون الوزن الملائم لأعمارهم، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى حدوث ضعف في النمو العقلي والبدني. وقد تؤدي الديدان إلى الإصابة بفقر الدم وسوء التغذية، ما يجعل الأطفال مرضى أو متعبين للغاية، مما يأثر بالتالي على التركيز الدراسي وفي بعض الأحيان امتناعهم عن الذهاب إلى المدرسة نهائياً.

وتعمل دبي العطاء مع شركائها من أجل تصميم وتنفيذ برامج فاعلة للتغذية المدرسية وإجراءات تدخلية لمكافحة الديدان، وذلك بهدف تحسين الصحة العامة ومستوى التغذية لدى الأطفال، حتى تتاح لهم إمكانية الانتظام في المدارس والاستفادة بصورة أكثر فعالية من الموارد المتاحة لهم.


وفي المجتمعات الفقيرة على وجه الخصوص، فإن تقديم وجبات مُغذية للأطفال أثناء وجودهم في المدرسة يمكن أن يخفف من الضغوط الاقتصادية الواقعة على الآباء الذين قد يستحسنون فكرة إلحاق أطفالهم بمدارس التعليم الأساسي وإبقائهم فيها طوال مرحلتهم التعليمية.

الماء والمرافق الصحية والنظافة الصحية في المدارس

إن عملية جمع المياه بصفة يومية والأمراض الكثيرة الناتجة عن سوء المرافق الصحية يؤديان إلى تغيب الأطفال عن المدارس، لاسيما البنات. وحتى تكون التجربة التعليمية متكاملة وصحية، ينبغي أن تتوافر المياه الصالحة للشرب والمرافق الصحية النظيفة إضافة الى تعزيز النظافة الصحية في المدارس.

في البلدان النامية، يتبع ملايين الأطفال سلوكيات غير صحية من حيث النظافة العامة، مثل التغوط في العراء وعدم غسل الأيدي بالصابون قبل تناول الطعام. ونتيجة هذه السلوكيات تتكرر حدوث الأمراض المنقولة عن طريق المياه، ما يؤدي إلى وفاة الأطفال في العديد من البلدان النامية. ونظراً لعدم قدرتهم على مواصلة الحضور المدرسي، يواجه الأطفال صعوبات في فهم المواد التعليمية، وفي نهاية الأمر يمتنعون عن الذهاب إلى المدرسة.

علاوة على ذلك، غياب المراحيض المخصصة للإناث يحد من بقاء العديد من البنات في  المدرسة، خاصة في السنوات الأخيرة من التعليم الأساسي.

وتسعى دبي العطاء وشركائها إلى ضمان الدمج الكامل لبرنامج الماء والمرافق الصحية والنظافة الصحية في المدارس في جميع برامجها، وتشجع على اتباع الممارسات الصحية الفعالة داخل المدارس والمجتمعات المحلية للحد من انتشار الأمراض وتحسين معدل التسجيل والحضور في مدارس التعليم الأساسي وزيادة التحصيل العلمي وتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين.

جودة التعليم

تعاني أنظمة التعليم في المدارس من نقص حاد في التمويل وعدد المعلمين. وطبقاً للتقرير العالمي لرصد التعليم للجميع لعام 2009 والذي تصدره اليونسكو، هناك حاجة ماسة في بلدان جنوب صحراء أفريقيا الكبرى لتوظيف 3,8 مليون معلم بحلول العام 2015، وذلك من أجل تعميم التعليم الأساسي للجميع. إلا أن هناك ضعف في جودة التعليم، إذ يعجز المعلمون عن التحدث باللغة المحلية لطلابهم وقراءة الكتب التعليمية، وهذا بسبب عدم حصولهم على دورات تدريبية لتطبيق المناهج الجديدة وضعف ثقافتهم أو عدم معرفتهم بأصول التدريس وأساليبه. ويعاني جزء كبير من البلدان النامية من مشكلة التفاوت العددي بين الطلاب والمعلمين، حيث يوجد في بعض الحالات معلم واحد لكل 60 طالباً.

وحرصاً من جانبها على دعم وتحسين مستوى التعليم الأساسي وسد الفجوة بين مستوى التعليم في البلدان المتقدمة والبلدان النامية، تعمل دبي العطاء بالتعاون مع وكالات محلية لتحسين مستوى أداء المعلمين وتدريب المدراء، ومراجعة المناهج الدراسية وتوفير المستلزمات الدراسية وإنشاء حوار مجتمعي مع المدارس وجمعيات للآباء والمعلمين لبناء ثقافة التعليم بمستوى إيجابي وفعال.

ومع ضمان حصول الأطفال على تعليم جيد وتمتعهم بالقدرة على التقدم في سنوات مرحلة التعليم الأساسي مع محدودية أو عدم الرسوب في الصفوف الدراسية، تدعم برامج تعزيز الجودة عملية تدفق الطلاب، وهكذا يتحسن مستوى الالتحاق في الأعوام الأولى من مرحلة التعليم الأساسي.