His Excellency Dr. Tariq Al Gurg

His Excellency Dr. Tariq Al Gurg

HE Dr. Tariq Al Gurg was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Dubai Cares in 2009 and as a member of its Board of Directors in 2018. 

Al Gurg has been a primary driver behind the organization’s success. He has enabled Dubai Cares to contribute to the evidence-base in education, leverage funding and invest in strategic relationships and programs that support the global education agenda. His focus has been to develop Dubai Cares as a recognized best-case practitioner and a global leader in education program design and innovation that is grounded in a philosophy of continuous monitoring and evaluation and rigorous research.

More recently, Al Gurg has been a key champion of Education in Emergencies, highlighting the critical need to provide education to children and young people living in fragile and conflict-affected situations. He is also behind Dubai Cares’ selection to become a member of the High-Level Steering Group for the global ‘Education Cannot Wait’ fund and the board of UNICEF’s Generation Unlimited.

In 2017, Al Gurg was recognized by Irina Bokova, former director of UNESCO for his role in transitioning Dubai Cares from a young philanthropic organization into a global leader in the international education arena. He also received the 2016 Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean (PAM) Award in recognition of his strong and visible commitment, outstanding achievement and active advocacy for quality education in Mediterranean countries.

Al Gurg’s past experience includes 12 years at various senior management positions within the consumer and corporate banking at Emirates NBD (formerly known as National Bank of Dubai). He is a Founding Board Member and Deputy Chairman of the UAE Genetic Diseases Association (UAE GDA). He was also a member of the UAE’s National Anti-Money Laundering Committee, chaired by the Governor of the UAE Central Bank. 

In 2019, Al Gurg was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters (D.Litt.) Degree from Mangalayatan University in Aligarh, India for his contribution to global education and his outstanding leadership and tireless efforts in addressing and raising awareness about issues of philanthropy.

سعادة الدكتور طارق محمد القرق

سعادة الدكتور طارق محمد القرق

تم تعيين سعادة الدكتور طارق محمد القرق الرئيس التنفيذي لدبي العطاء في عام 2009، وعضو مجلس إدارة المؤسسة في 2018، حيث قام منذ تلك الفترة بوضع الأطر الاستراتيجية وقيادة مؤسسة إنسانية عالمية تتخذ من دولة الامارات مقراً لها وتكرّس قدراتها لتوفير التعليم السليم للأطفال والشباب في البلدان النّامية.

لعب القرق دوراً هاماً في قيادة نجاحات المؤسسة. واستطاع القرق تمكين دبي العطاء من المساهمة في تطوير قاعدة الأدلة حول التعليم، والاستفادة من نجاح برامجها لاستقطاب مانحين آخرين، والاستثمار في علاقات استراتيجية وبرامج تدعم أجندة التعليم العالمية. وتمحور تركيزه على تطوير دبي العطاء كمؤسسة تُعرف باعتمادها على أفضل الممارسات ورائدة عالمياً في مجال تصميم البرامج التعليمية والابتكار الذي ينبع من فلسفة الرصد والتقييم المستمر والبحث الدقيق.

ومؤخراً، كان القرق في مقدمة داعمي التعليم في حالات الطوارئ على الصعيد العالمي، وذلك من خلال تسليط الضوء على الحاجة الماسة إلى توفير التعليم للأطفال والشباب الذين يعيشون في البلدان والأوضاع الهشة والمتأثرة بالنزاعات. وهو أيضاً وراء اختيار دبي العطاء لتكون عضو في الفريق التوجيهي رفيع المستوى لصندوق "التعليم لا يمكن أن ينتظر" العالمي وفي مبادرة "جيل طليق" التابع للمجلس العالمي التابع لمنظمة اليونيسف.

وفي عام 2017، كرمت إيرينا بوكوفا، المديرة العامة السابقة لليونسكو القرق تقديراً واعترافاً لدوره في تحول دبي العطاء من مؤسسة إنسانية فتّية إلى مؤسسة عالمية رائدة في مجال التعليم الدولي. وتسلّم القرق أيضاً جائزة الجمعية البرلمانية للبحر الأبيض المتوسط لعام 2016 تكريماً وتقديراً لالتزامه القوي والواضح، والإنجاز المتميز والدعم النشط من أجل توفير التعليم السليم للأطفال في البلدان النامية.

تشمل خبرة القرق 12 عاماً في مناصب إدارية عليا مختلفة في القطاع المصرفي للأفراد والشركات في بنك الإمارات دبي الوطني (بنك دبي الوطني سابقاً). كما أنه عضو مؤسس ونائب رئيس مجلس إدارة جمعية الإمارات للأمراض الجينية، وكان أيضاً عضواً في اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة غسيل الأموال في الإمارات التي كان يترأسها محافظ المصرف المركزي لدولة الإمارات.

في 2019، تم منح القرق دكتوراه فخرية من جامعة مانجالاياتان في أليغار، الهند وذلك تقديراً لمساهمته في دعم قضية التعليم حول العالم ولقيادته المتميزة وجهوده الدؤوبة في معالجة وزيادة الوعي حول القضايا المتعلقة بالعمل الانساني.