H.E. Sultan Al Shamsi

H.E. Sultan Al Shamsi

HE Sultan Al Shamsi is the Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation for International Development Affairs, with over 24 years of experience in governmental organizations and private sector. In addition to providing strategic guidance to the UAE leadership on issues relating to foreign assistance, his current responsibilities include supervising two departments: Foreign Aid Affairs and Development Cooperation, also he is chairing the Women Empowerment Committee within the Ministry, and co-chairing the Working Group of Stabilization within the Global Coalition against Da'esh.  

HE Al Shamsi is also a board member of Dubai Cares Foundation, a board member of UAE Water Aid Foundation, a board member of UN OCHA's Advisory Board for Annual Partnership Conference, and board member of DIHAD International Scientific Advisory Board (Dubai International Humanitarian Aid & Development Conference).

HE Al Shamsi served as the Assistant Under-Secretary for International Development at the Ministry of International Cooperation and Development (MICAD) from 2013-2016, when MICAD was merged under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation. At MICAD, HE Al Shamsi was responsible for setting up the new ministry, as well as acting as the lead for the development of the UAE foreign aid policy, and coordinating with the OECD/DAC regarding the documentation, evaluation and policy dialogue. He also acted as the Coordinator of the UAE Committee for the Coordination of Foreign Humanitarian Assistance, and chaired MICAD’s Innovation Committee and Shaping the Future Committee.

HE Al Shamsi was the Executive Director (Assistant Under-Secretary) of the UAE Office for the Coordination of Foreign Aid (OCFA), from its establishment in 2009 until it became part of MICAD in March 2013. During this time, HE Al Shamsi was responsible for establishing and monitoring the implementation of OCFA’s structure, policies, strategic plans, and programs. 

HE Al Shamsi’s previous roles include acting as: Director of Customer Services & Compliance at the Abu Dhabi Department of Transport; Support Services Manager at Al Foah Company in Abu Dhabi General Holding Corporation; and Ministry of Interior. 

HE Al Shamsi is a graduate of Management Information Systems (MIS) from the UAE University, and holds a Master degree in Business Administration/Information Management from the University of Southern Queensland in Australia.

سلطان محمد الشامسي

سلطان محمد الشامسي

يشغل سعادة سلطان الشامسي، منصب مساعد وزير الخارجية والتعاون الدولي لشؤون التنمية الدولية، بخبرة تربو على 24 عاماً من العمل في المؤسسات الحكومية والقطاع الخاص. بالإضافة إلى تزويده لمتخذي القرار بالتوجيه والإرشاد الاستراتيجي حول المسائل والمواضيع المتعلقة بالمساعدات الخارجية، وتشمل مسؤوليات منصبه الحالي الإشراف على إدارتي:  شؤون المساعدات الخارجية وإدارة التعاون الإنمائي، كما أنه يترأس لجنة تمكين المرأة في الوزارة، ويشارك في رئاسة مجموعة العمل المعنية بتحقيق الاستقرار ضمن التحالف الدولي ضد داعش. 

علاوة على هذا، يشغل سعادة سلطان الشامسي عدة مقاعد في مجالس إدارات العديد من المؤسسات، منها مؤسسة دبي العطاء، ومجلس إدارة مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات، كما أنه عضو في المجلس الاستشاري الخاص بمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (أوتشا) للمؤتمر السنوي للشراكة الفعّالة، بالإضافة إلى عضوية المجلس الاستشاري العلمي العالمي لمعرض ومؤتمر دبي الدولي للإغاثة والتطوير (ديهاد).

عمل سعادة سلطان الشامسي كوكيل وزارة مساعد لشؤون التنمية الدولية في وزارة التنمية والتعاون الدولي (MICAD) خلال الفترة من 2013-2016، وبعد ذلك تم دمج وزارة التنمية والتعاون الدولي ضمن وزارة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي. وفي إطار منصبه بوزارة التنمية والتعاون الدولي، اضطلع سعادة/ سلطان الشامسي بمسؤولية تأسيس وإعداد الوزارة الجديدة، بالإضافة إلى قيادة عملية صياغة سياسة المساعدات الخارجية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والتنسيق مع لجنة المساعدة الإنمائية التابعة لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD-DAC) بشأن عمليات التوثيق والتقييم وإجراء الحوارات السياساتية. كما عمل كمنسق للجنة الإماراتية الوطنية لتنسيق المساعدات الإنسانية الخارجية، وترأس لجنة الابتكار بوزارة التنمية والتعاون الدولي ولجنة استشراف المستقبل.

وقبل ذلك، عمل سعادة سلطان الشامسي في منصب المدير التنفيذي (على درجة وكيل وزارة مساعد) لمكتب تنسيق المساعدات الخارجية (OCFA) منذ تأسيسه في عام 2009 وحتى أصبح جزءاً من وزارة التنمية والتعاون الدولي في مارس 2013. وخلال فترة عمله، كان مسؤولاً عن وضع الهيكيل التنظيمي لمكتب تنسيق المساعدات الخارجية وسياساته وخططه الاستراتيجية وبرامجه، والرقابة عليها وتنفيذها.

تشمل بعض المناصب السابقة التي شغلها سعادة سلطان الشامسي:  مدير إدارة خدمة العملاء والرقابة في دائرة أبوظبي للنقل، ومدير إدارة الخدمات المساندة في شركة الفوعة ضمن الشركة القابضة العامة في أبوظبي، والعمل بوزارة الداخلية.

تخرج سعادة سلطان الشامسي في تخصص إدارة نظم المعلومات من جامعة الإمارات، كما أنه يحمل درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال/إدارة المعلومات من جامعة ساوث كوينزلاند في استراليا.