H.E. Reem Ibrahim Al Hashimy

H.E. Reem Ibrahim Al Hashimy

In February 2016, Her Excellency Reem Al Hashimy was sworn in as Minister of State for International Cooperation, in the UAE’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation. Additionally, she holds responsibility within the Ministry, for the UAE’s bilateral relations with Sub Saharan African countries, India, Pakistan and the Small Island Developing States (SIDS).

Since her first ministerial appointment in February 2008, Her Excellency has and continues to manage, the International Affairs Office of the UAE Prime Minister, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

In November 2013, as Managing Director of Dubai’s World Expo 2020 bid, Her Excellency oversaw a historic success and endorsement from a majority of the 168 member states of the Bureau International des Expositions, the intergovernmental organisation responsible for World Expos. Dubai Expo 2020 will be the first to be held in the MENASA (Middle East, North Africa and South Asia region). Her Excellency holds the position of Managing Director of the Dubai Expo 2020 Higher Committee as well as Director General of the Dubai Expo 2020 Bureau, in preparation for the upcoming mega event. 

Since its launch in 2007 by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Her Excellency has served as Chairperson of Dubai Cares, a philanthropic organisation with the aim of improving access to primary education in developing countries.

Her Excellency is Chairperson of the Federal Competitiveness and Statistics Authority, which merged the former Emirates Competitiveness Council and the National Bureau of Statistics in 2015, to drive the UAE’s global competitiveness.

Her Excellency completed her undergraduate degree at Tufts University, earning a BA in International Relations and French, followed by an MA from Harvard University. Prior to her current position as Minister of State, Her Excellency served as Commercial Attaché, and subsequently Deputy Chief, of the UAE Embassy to the United States of America, in Washington DC.

معالي ريم إبراهيم الهاشمي

معالي ريم إبراهيم الهاشمي

 
في فبراير 2016 ، أدت معالي ريم الهاشمي القسم الدستورية كوزيرة دولة للتعاون الدولي في وازرة الخارجية والتعاون الدولي، إضافةً لمهامها الأخرى داخل الوزارة والمتعلقة بالعلاقات الثنائية بين دولة الإماارت العربية المتحدة مع دول أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء، والهند وباكستان والدول الجزرية الصغيرة النامية. كما تدير معالي ريم الهاشمي ومنذ أول تعيين وزاري لها في فبراير 2008 حتى اليوم، مكتب الشؤون الدولية لرئيس مجلس الوزارء صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم.
 
في نوفمبر 2013 ، أشرفت معالي ريم الهاشمي، كمديرة عامة لإكسبو دبي 2020 ، على تحقيق الفوز التاريخي لدولة الإمارات باستضافة معرض إكسبو العالمي لعام 2020 في إمارة دبي بتصويت الأغلبية من الدول ال 168 الأعضاء في المكتب الدولي للمعارض. وسيكون هذا المعرض الأول من نوعه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وجنوب آسيا. وحالياً تشغل معالي ريم الهاشمي منصب مديرة عامة للجنة التنفيذية لمعرض دبي إكسبو 2020 ، والمديرة العامة لمكتب إكسبو دبي 2020 الذي يشرف على تنفيذ واقامة هذا الحدث الاستثنائي.
 
كما تشغل معالي ريم الهاشمي منصب رئيسة مجلس إدارة دبي العطاء، وهي مؤسسة خيرية تتخذ من دولة الإمارات مقرا لها تم إطلاقها في سبتمبر 2007 من قبل صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم بهدف تحسين فرص الأطفال في الحصول على التعليم الابتدائي في الدول النامية.
 
تترأس معالي ريم الهاشمي منصب رئيسة الهيئة الاتحادية للتنافسية والإحصاء التي انبثقت من ضم مجلس الإمارات للتنافسية والمكتب الوطني للإحصاء في 2015 وذلك بغرض دفع عجلة التنافسية في دولة الإمارات لتحقيق النمو والازدهار المستدام. 

تتمتع معالي ريم الهاشمي بخبرة متميزة في مجال الشؤون الدولية، حيث ابتدأت مسيرتها المهنية بمنصب ملحق تجاري ثم نائبة رئيس البعثة الدبلوماسية في سفارة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في واشنطن. والسيدة ريم الهاشمي حاصلة على درجتي بكالوريوس في العلاقات الدولية واللغة الفرنسية من جامعة تافتس، ودرجة الماجستير من جامعة هارفارد.