Dr. Maryam Mohammed Mattar

Dr. Maryam Mohammed Mattar

H.E. Dr. Maryam Matar is the former Director General of the Community Development Authority (CDA), which undertakes to formulate social policies and deliver social services that are in line with and contribute to the achievement of the social development objectives of Dubai Strategic Plan 2007 – 2015, launched by H.H. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum on February 3rd, 2007. In 2005, Dr. Matar was the leader of the executive team that set up social development strategies for Dubai Strategic Plan.

Born in 1975, Dr. Matar holds a B.A. in Medicine and Surgery (1993-1998) and a degree from the Family Medicine Residency Program with distinction. She is also a graduate of the H.H. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Program for Leadership Development with distinction, second batch (2003-2004).

Furthermore, Dr. Matar is the founder and Executive Director of two non-profit civil associations, “UAE Down’s Syndrome Association” and “UAE Genetic Diseases Association”, which support families from 17 different nationalities. In addition, she has initiated several national community outreach programs such as “UAE Free of Thalassemia by 2012” and established a number of Wellness Centers in Higher Colleges of Technology and Dubai Ladies Club.

Before joining CDA, Dr. Matar was the first Emirati woman to bear the title of Undersecretary to the Minister of Health in 2006, designing blueprints for Public Health and Primary Health Care for year 2011. Moreover, she launched a number of initiatives to deliver Primary Health Care (PHC) services in the Northern Emirates and increase the number of PHC centers from 52 to 97.

From 1990 to 2005, Dr. Matarhas received many awards on a yearly basis, including the H.H. Sheikh Rashid “Academic Excellence” Award in the Faculty of Medicine (1999); “Best Healthcare Project” Award among all UAE Higher Colleges of Technology (2002);“Distinguished Employee” Award from Dubai Government Excellence Program in the Department of Health and Medical Services (2003);“Best Community Project” Award from the H.H. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Program for Leadership Development (2004) and Emirates Businesswomen Award for “Professional Excellence” (2004).

Dr. Matar also assumed the position of Head of Community Studies and Programs Section, Primary Health Care – DOHMS, besides being the Executive Director of UAE Free of Thalassemia Project and the Medical Advisor for the Treatment Abroad Advisory Committee (Customs and Free Zone Corporation).

Today, Dr. Matar holds several posts including Executive Director of UAE Genetic Diseases Association, Deputy Chairperson of Dubai Cares and a Board Member of the Marriage Fund, Awqaf and Minors Affairs Foundation, Dubai Women Establishment, Damas International Limited and the Canadian University of Dubai.

سعادة الدكتورة مريم محمد مطر

سعادة الدكتورة مريم محمد مطر

الدكتورة "مريم مطر"، المدير العام السابق لهيئة تنمية المجتمع، الهيئة التي أطلقتها حكومة دبي لتولّي مسؤولية تنظيم وتطوير وتقديم الخدمات في قطاع التنمية الاجتماعية بما يتماشى مع تحقيق أهداف التنمية الاجتماعية لخطة دبي الاستراتيجية 2007-2015 التي أعلن عنها صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي في 3 فبراير 2007. وكانت الدكتورة مطر قد قادت في 2005 عمل الفريق التنفيذي الذي وضع استراتيجيات التنمية الاجتماعية لخطة دبي الاستراتيجية.

ولدت الدكتورة مطر عام 1975 وهي تحمل شهادة البكالوريوس في الطب والجراحة (1993-1998) وشهادة من برنامج الطب العائلي بدرجة امتياز. كما كانت من خريجي الدفعة الثانية (2003-2004) لبرامج سمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد لتنمية القيادات وبتميز أيضاً.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أسست الدكتورة مطر جمعيتين أهليتين غير ربحيتين حيث تتولى إدارتهما بنفسها وهما جمعية الإمارات لمتلازمة داون وجمعية الإمارات للأمراض الجينية اللتين تقدمان الرعاية والخدمات لمجموعة كبيرة من العائلات من أكثر من 17 جنسية، كما اهتمت بإطلاق عدد من البرامج الاجتماعية وحملات التوعية مثل حملة إماراتنا خالية من الثلاسيميا 2012، فضلاً عن تأسيسها عدة مراكز للصحة الشاملة في الكليات العليا للتكنولوجيا ونادي دبي للسيدات.

قبل انضمامها إلى الهيئة، أصبحت الدكتورة مريم مطر أول إماراتية تتولى مهام وكيل وزارة الصحة في عام 2006، حيث قامت بتصميم برامج للصحة العامة والرعاية الصحية الأولية لعام 2011.  كما ساهمت في إطلاق عدد من برامج الرعاية الصحية الأولية في الإمارات الشمالية، وفي زيادة عدد مراكز الرعاية الصحية الأولية من 52 إلى 97.

وقد حازت الدكتورة مريم مطر على العديد من الجوائز منذ عام 1990 حتى عام 2005 وبشكل سنوي، أبرزها جائزة سمو الشيخ راشد للتميز التعليمي في كلية الطب (1999)، وجائزة أفضل مشروع صحي على مستوى كليات التقنية العليا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة (2002)، وجائزة برنامج دبي للأداء الحكومي المتميز عن فئة الموظف المتميز في دائرة الصحة والخدمات الطبية (2003)، وجائزة برنامج محمد بن راشد لإعداد القادة عن فئة أفضل مشروع مجتمعي (2004)، وجائزة الإمارات لسيدات الأعمال عن فئة التميز المهني (2004).

وتشغل الدكتورة مطر منصب رئيس قسم الدراسات والبرامج الاجتماعية، وقسم الرعاية الصحية الأولية في دائرة الصحة والخدمات الطبية في دبي، إضافة إلى شغلها منصب المدير التنفيذي لمبادرة إماراتنا خالية من الثلاسيميا والمستشار الطبي   للجنة الاستشارية للعلاج بالخارج (الجمارك والمنطقة الحرة). 

كما تحتل الدكتورة مطر عدة مناصب منها المدير التنفيذي لجمعية الإمارات للأمراض الجينية، نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة دبي العطاء، وعضو مجلس إدارة صندوق الزواج، مؤسسة الأوقاف وشؤون القصر، مؤسسة دبي للمرأة، داماس الدولية المحدودة، و جامعة دبي الكندية.